Raspberry Pi

Kodi on Pi: Set up Pi hardware

This is the second in a series of posts on how I set up a Raspberry Pi as a Kodi box running OSMC.

In this post I describe the Pi hardware and how I set it up.

This is the hardware I used:

The HDMI cable is only required for one step of the set up, but you’ll need it to connect your Kodi box to a TV when it’s compete.

Fit the Raspberry Pi board into the Case. The OneNineDesign Pi case used is in three parts. You need to fit the board into the base first as it slides under the lugs in each corner; the middle section goes on next and then the lid. With the lid fitted there should be a gap around the edge.

One Nine Design Pi Case components

The micro SD card slot can be accessed at the rear underside of the case (assuming you think of the front of the case as where the USB connectors are), so it’s easy to insert and remove the micro SD card with the Pi board fitted in the case.

I chose the NorthPada power supply as it had consistently good reviews on Amazon
and it’s price is mid-range. It supplies 2 amps so meets the power requirements for Pi 2. Update July 2016: I have now replaced the 2 amp NorthPada supply with the 2.5 amp version (available via the same Amazon link above) as I would sometimes see the lower power icon in OSMC (small multi-coloured square in top right corner of screen). 

There’s no on-off switch on the Pi so don’t plug in the power supply until you’ve got the SD card set up and installed (Step 3).

I also went for a decent branded 8GB micro SD card (SanDisk) as its was only £3.60. You’ll also need an SD adapter so it can go into your PC’s card reader. You don’t need a micro SD card with NOOBS installed as you are going to wipe the card and install a new image.

For the set up I connected the Pi to my home router with a spare Ethernet cable. To do this with WiFi you would need to purchase a Pi WiFi dongle (I don’t cover wifi set up in these posts).

Next step: Install OSMC on SD card


Introduction


If you have found this useful then I’m glad to be of help. If you have found it REALLY useful you can send me 1 US Dollar by clicking the Donate button!

Donate Button

Leave a comment